333 West Ocean Blvd.
4th Floor
Long Beach CA
Cultural Heritage Commission
Public Hearings & Commissions Historic Preservation    

The Cultural Heritage Commission (CHC) reviews design of all changes to designated properties, and identifies buildings and neighborhoods with architectural and historical value, recommending designation as City landmarks to the Mayor and City Council and Planning Commission.

Sign up for the Planning Hearing Agendas E-Notify to be notified when a new agenda is available online. Real-time updates are also available through our news RSS feed.

Commission Members

  • Alan Burks, AIA LEED® AP, Chair
  • Karen L. Highberger, Vice Chair 
  • Shannon Carmack 
  • Craig Smith
  • Kathleen Irvine 
  • Jan Robert van Dijs
  • Julianna Roosevelt 
Officer Election:
Annually in July

2 years (4 terms max.)

Appointed by Mayor

Staff Liaison:
Christopher Koontz, Advance Planning Officer, (562) 570-6288


Second Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at City Hall, Council Chambers.

Get Adobe Reader Get Adobe Reader
News RSS Feed